Review: Holborn Personal Zip- 4 Month Update

My first analog notebook was a little red Pentalic I could carry in my pocket. I picked it up cheap at a local bookstore because I was sick of being so forgetful.

I fell in love with the idea of a planner with binder rings after reading The Happiness Project in which Gretchen Rubin casually mentioned that she uses a Filofax. I didn’t know what that was, but after a quick google I was hooked. The planners themselves are beautiful, but the online community is astounding.

I had to have one.

I started with a black mini metropol which became my wallet (the only brand new planner I’ve ever owned). I later moved to a black personal Tecnic I bought on Ebay when I realized I needed more room (and resigned myself to carrying a purse). Poor thing, the ring mechanism broke off earlier this year. A mushroom Aston was my 3rd- it now lives with my Mom. I needed a planner that was a bit bolder, less bendy, MOAR POCKETS.

Enter my love- my personal wine Holborn zip.

IMG_20140928_160003

I ❤ contrast stitching.

IMG_20140928_154222 IMG_20140928_154111

Even the zipper pull is embossed (the creepy pewter hand was not included).

IMG_20140928_154155

The nice little touches are a bonus.

IMG_20140928_154001

It’s my wallet, my calendar, my journal, my catchall, my life.

IMG_20140928_153948

And the pockets! The pockets!

IMG_20140928_154015   IMG_20140928_153833

Yo dawg, I heard you like pockets…

IMG_20140928_153928IMG_20140928_154054

The front pocket is extremely useful when I’m in a hurry for receipts and such. The only thing I permanently store in there is my crystal nail file.

Complaints:

I love that the pen loop is stretchy, but it still isn’t big enough to easily accommodate a Pilot G2 which is my go-to.

Oh and this is happening… I’ve had success in the past with a shoe repair shop when my Aston’s pen loop started to do this. I’m thinking of taking my Holborn back there, but I’m not prepared to part with it for a week.

IMG_20140928_154230

Overall, I am extremely happy with it. It is flexible and durable in all the right places. I read a review on Plannerisms before I bought it which describes the feel of a Holborn as “buttery-soft”. Totally spot on. 4 months later I still can’t put it down.

Thanks for reading. Next up: storage, homemade dividers, and my current layout.

4 thoughts on “Review: Holborn Personal Zip- 4 Month Update

  1. Love the Holborn, it looks so relaxed and cool 🙂 Hope you’re enjoing it! I didn’t think I could ever get used to a zip filofax but I’m using a Navy Zip Malden and I’m loving it 🙂

    Kel (www.kelsiefreeman.wordpress.com)
    x

    • I didn’t know Malden came in a zip! I just located them still being sold on the German Filofax website and it looks like it’s not made in the personal size. Do you use the compact?

      • Yes I am using the Compact Navy Malden Zip: they take personal size so it’s compatible with your personal pages. I love the idea of a zip now: never thought I would… I’m converted! X

  2. This is my most favorite of them all and I will continue my search to find one, this gal is looking everywhere on a mission!

Leave a Reply

