My (not quite) Perfect Triumvirate

Happy Monday!

I feel silly because I just realized that this little pocket is obviously for coins…

Picture

I thought today I would compare how I use my planner, Evernote, and Google Calendar since we’ve been discussing combining digital and analog methods on Google+.  The picture below illustrates my ongoing battle of too many systems.  I’ve accepted that I need more than one system, but my current goal is to define exactly how I use each one so they are more or less mutually exclusive.  That way, I know precisely where to find the information I need.

IMG_20141020_102745

I’m going to organize this post into three big categories:

Appointments, To-Dos, & Notes


TLDR (if you don’t want to read the whole thing)

Google Calendar

  • appointments + details
  • known due dates for bills and school assignments as a reference

Journal

  • simplified appointments under daily journal
  • to-dos- master list, daily, and upcoming
  • collections

Evernote:

  • shopping list
  • food log
  • school & work notes

APPOINTMENTS

Here’s what Monday-Wednesday look like for the next two weeks in Google Calendar.

Screenshot 2014-10-20 at 10.56.55

I like to put my schedule into Google calendar because it syncs across devices.  Plus, I can easily set up my class schedule at the start of the term so there’s very little work involved.  I can add events from Gmail in a couple clicks.  Bills repeat automatically.

I usually go ahead and put in my school assignments at the beginning of the term because it’s nice to have here.

Screenshot 2014-10-20 at 10.57.14Screenshot 2014-10-20 at 10.57.26

I have my CMNS 304W lecture today.

wpid-screenshot_2014-10-20-10-59-04.png

In my daily bullet journal entry, I have written in the class that I have today, but I didn’t bother to write in the time or any other details.

IMG_20141020_113602


TO-DOS

To-dos belong in my journal.  I find having a single place for them is best.  The one exception I make is my grocery shopping list.

I keep that in Evernote and I set up an IFTTT recipe for it using the hashtag #shopping so it’s easy to add items.  I appreciate being able to pull up the list on my phone while I’m at the store.

Screenshot 2014-10-20 at 12.02.07

(I have an IFTTT recipe for my Food Log in Evernote as well.)

Screenshot 2014-10-20 at 12.08.17

Chores go in my journal under my monthly spread.  I also copy school assignments in here and date-specific to-dos.  I like it as my “big picture” of the month.

IMG_20141020_104520


NOTES

I still keep my Notes/In section at the front of my Filofax, but I’m wondering if I should just incorporate it into my journal section for a more classic bullet journal setup.  I like giving myself a place to be messy so I can quickly dump my brain without worrying about formatting, but having one less section might be simpler.  Hmm…

picture

I keep my collections in a separate section.

IMG_20141020_102912

School and work notes go into Evernote.  I don’t understand how people can keep decent handwritten lecture notes.  I can type much faster than I can write by hand and I can actually read it later (my handwriting is either fast or legible- never both).  Having a search function is another huge advantage, as well the ability to cut and paste.

(The [Journal] notebook is for my IFTTT items. I should probably change the title to be less confusing.)

Screenshot 2014-10-20 at 12.07.19


So there you have it- my work in progress.

The last thing I will mention is that I also use Google Drive, albeit not for things I need to access on a daily basis.  It’s more of my file cabinet for important receipts, immigration documents, etc.  I write and store my written school assignments there as well because the formatting is beautiful and Evernote is completely lacking in that respect (Evernote doesn’t even have a word-count to my knowledge).

Alright, back to homework.  I hope you all have a nice day and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

